Personalities, Personal Truth and Prizes

What’s personality got to do with it? Frankly, my dear, everything.

TMIMomFBgraphicWhen looking at our creativity and mojo, understanding our personality is key to what drives us. What closes you off and what opens you up? How can you tap into the well of creativity and what dries up the well?

I love to study psychology. Understanding what makes us tick not only helps in my branding and marketing work, but in character development for my fictional stories and coping with relationships in real life. (And we all work or live with someone, right?)

I’m an ENTJ in Myers Briggs (Extrovert/Intuitive/Thinking/Judging). But I still prefer to work alone (or be in charge) and get my energy from ideas, not people.  Did you know there’s a third personality type? That of the ambivert – a person who shows both extraversion and introversion depending on the day or situation. It’s not in the MBTI scale, but you can test yourself here to see where you land. (I’m 55% so squarely an ambivert.) I’m also a first born (article on birth order here.)  I’m a life path 1 in numerology (leader prone to bouts of overconfidence and bossiness) and my expression number is 11, with this description:

Yours is the most highly charged Expression number of all. 

You are like a lightning rod, attracting powerful ideas, intuitions, and even psychic information like unpredictable bolts. You are a powerful presence without any awareness on your part of having personal power. You are a channel for higher vibrations. But in order to be emotionally and psychologically at peace, you must learn to control that flow of energy. 

You possess a bridge between the unconscious and the conscious. 

You are idealistic, impractical, and at times disorderly. You are often unrealistic in your expectations. Your reasons for doing things are usually born of a mixture of logic, emotion, and intuition, which can rarely be explained satisfactorily to your more rational associates.

When you combine your life path number and expression number, you begin to see the deeper picture of who you are.  Understanding our personal makeup can aid us in living our personal truth and living a more productive, happier life in peace. Not only is this key for our our own well-being, but in how we work (and live) with others. All five of my family members are not only different life path numbers (out of 9) but only two share an expression number. (My teen daughter and husband share a 6 and they not only look alike, but act alike though she’d likely argue with you about it.)

Certainly you don’t need to take a test or evaluation to know who you are, but it doesn’t hurt. You likely have picked up on the characteristics of the people in your life by simply spending time around them, but often we try to change them – dismissing their characteristics for FLAWS because ours is different. I’m the only emotional, sensitive one in my family. The kids know I can’t watch the news or scary movies. I know what to avoid to keep heartache and anxiety at bay and I also know what lifts me up.

If you don’t know this about yourself or loved ones, I’d urge you to give it some thought. It might explain a lot about what working or not working in your life.

Now that you’re reading this, you may understand why I’m drawn to creating fictional worlds, why I write and discuss deep issues, why people come to me if they want something done or need to get talked into trying something new. I’m a dreamer/doer. But you wouldn’t want me to pack up your house or cook you a gourmet meal. (I’d break things, lose things, burn things.)

Understanding our gifts and limitations is extremely liberating, even though it’s frustrating because I may not want to be an idealist with unrealistic expectations who bites off more than I can chew, but I can remind myself of those qualities before I take the next big bite. (And maybe not be quite so hard on myself when I fail and get back up again.) And I really have to work on that patience thing.

***

BOOK NEWS: Prizes, anyone? FAMILY CHARMS is featured in two giveaways happening right now. One is with the wonderful Girlfriends’ Book Club Summer Escapes. Register to win an ebook of your choice from the poster each week. Enter here.  If you’re on Goodreads, register for a chance to win a paperback copy of FAMILY CHARMS here. 

summerescapesposter

Leave a Reply

