Get Out: Hike This, Hear That

I grew up with weekends at the lake, my fishing pole sitting idle while I scrambled through the tall grass looking for horned toads and fleeing from crickets. Summer vacations were on the road, in the RV, bunking with my sisters and playing cards until it was time for us to tumble out and play badminton and climb rocks new but strangely familiar to us in places like New Mexico, Arizona and South Dakota.

While RVing is out of vogue and every time I take a road trip with the kids I swear it will be the last, I miss the open road and adventure and mostly being in nature. I have some catching up to do. My children could care less about the Black Hills or Mount Rushmore and we’re giving them the vacation of their dreams next month with a trip to Hawaii, but in the meantime, I’m giving myself the gift of Nature as often as I can. This Get Out series is certainly about unplugging and reconnecting with nature and each other, but I don’t expect my family to be as enthusiastic as I am about the idea, which is why my little treks are with girlfriends, family and even all by my lonesome. I love new challenges and adventures so camping by myself has a new appeal that would’ve frightened me just months ago. I likely have Barbara Brown Taylor and her new book, “Learning to Walk in the Dark” to thank for that idea to exile myself to the night.

Since I’m supposed to be dedicating my summer to finishing the first draft of my love after war brotherhood novel, I’ll likely only post every other week and mostly include photos to save us both some time.

This week’s “Get Out” adventures began with a trip to Black Mesa to hike the highest elevation in Oklahoma (4.2 miles up) in the Oklahoma panhandle, a mid-week treat seeing Matt Stansberry and the Romance at the UCO Jazz Lab. (Please treat yourself to their album.) and concluding with a surprise trip to The Canebrake, a resort in eastern Oklahoma in Wagoner, OK where we hiked, dined, and even saw a family of armadillos on the way out of town this morning.

Where shall we go next?

xo,

Malena

IMG_0819
My sis and I with our kids in the middle. Hubbies came long, too.
IMG_0852
Jurassic hike. Yes, dinosaurs roamed here. Kind of cool, right?
IMG_0898
When I look at this picture, I feel the same peace I did standing there. Zen.
IMG_5224
Getting caught up in the energy of great live music is the next best thing to being in nature for me.
IMG_5226
Matt Stansberry is a local designer and bad ass musician. I’m a huge fan.
IMG_5228
All of it. Impeccable.
IMG_5230
I’m sure in a past life I was a jazz vocalist. Now I just pose next to them and give ’em hugs of gratitude for their pipes.
The Canebrake. Where there's an arrow, I must investigate.
The Canebrake. Where there’s an arrow, I must investigate.
My Papa would be proud to see I still like to climb on rocks.
My Papa would be proud to see I still like to climb on rocks.
IMG_5317
Peek a boo.
IMG_5309
I love trees more than shoe and that’s saying a lot.

IMG_5311

Leave a Reply

